DeSoto Parish Louisiana

"I pledge allegiance to the flag of the state of Louisiana
and to the motto for which it stands:
A state, under God, united in purpose and ideals,
confident that justice shall prevail for all of those abiding here."


Search this Site with PicoSearch


Jeffersonian Lodge

submitted  by Nancy W


The following was given to me in 1979 by Mr. G. Simmons of the Grand Lodge of the State of Louisiana in New Orleans.

He wrote that the Jeffersonian Lodge No. 138 was chartered on 2/12/1856. It surrendered its charter on 2/17/1860. It was rechartered as Jeffersonian Lodge No. 181 in 1868. It surrendered its charter again on 4/13/1880. I believe it was located at the Jefferson Steam Mill. I'm not sure where that was, but it had to have been in the Keatchie / Frierson area.

The Charter Members were:

Seneca Powell, Sr.

Thomas Pirrin

E. R. Best

James M. Farmer

Jno. F. Tomkies

E. C. Norris

B. S. Lester

J. M. Siester (?)

and James H. Beard

At the time of the surrender (in 1880) the members were:

L. F. Scott (W.M. in 1880 ) *

W.E. Parker J. H. Cowley

J. M. Nelson W. S. Frierson

J. G. Marshall T. C. Frierson

E. W. Lacey A. V. Lester

J. H. McCreavy N. S. McLeod

Geo. Jefferson

J. C. Baker

* (whatever that means)

Back to DeSoto Main Page

Copyright 1997-present by Jane Keppler This information may be used by individuals for their own personal use, libraries and genealogical societies. Commercial use of this information is strictly prohibited without prior written permission from Jane Keppler. If material is copied, this copyright notice must appear with the information and please email me and let me know. Neither the Site Coordinators nor the volunteers assume any responsibility for the information or material given by the contributors or for errors of fact or judgment in material that is published at this website.

Page Modified: 06 February 2017                           

DeSoto is part of the LAGenWeb Project, State Coordinator: Edward Hayden